Cardiology.

Second placement – first day.

I arrived to the hospital at 645 am after the dull journey on London’s 5* tube service. I was tired, my brain felt dry- how was I going to absorb the information needed for today.

I was welcomed onto the cardiology ward by a pale skinned zombie like nurse who was just finishing off her night shift, she suggested I changed into my clean uniform in the toilet. Once I done that much to my disgust I was then led to a hole in the wall which they referred to as the cloakroom, it was dirty stunk like old leather mixed with that horrid smell of unwashed cheesy feet. Once again, I left my bag in another filthy place (luckily they had pegs) and off I went down the ward.

First impressions really do leave a horrible taste in your mouth, as in your mind. It was approaching 7am and I had already mentally prepared myself to meet rude staff and a hectic ward, it was the total Opposite!

I met the day staff as we went on the ward round for handover from night shift, which also included meeting one of my three mentors. This ward was organised and ready for my arrival, which impressed me. The Ward manager is strict but approachable, same goes to the sister. I can see I will have some funny moments on this cardiology ward because the staff are happy, even at 7 dreaded am in the morning. (I was up before the birds…. I’m still traumatised)

I have noted that people from the Philippines are very happy people – just a mental note. This atmosphere makes a big difference when working together, to have managers who are always happy is a blessing when a nursing student because it reminds you that nursing isn’t all about waking up at the crack of dawn and coming home at night, or cleaning incontinent patients all day. It’s about where your heart is!

So, just a quick update on my first day at my second placement. I have so many topics on the end of my tongue but I must put some work into my assignments… Leave your thoughts or questions in the comments box.

T x

One thought on “Cardiology.

Leave a comment